Disney Channel Original Movies

Watching Every Disney Channel Original Movie: Brink! (1998)

Am I doing nothing with my time except watching Disney films? Yes, pretty much.

Brink! is about Andy ‘Brink’ Brinker (played by Erik von Detten, or as I called him throughout the whole film in my head ‘Josh Bryant from Princess Diaries!!) who is really good at skating (with roller-skates, my idiot brain thought this was a movie about skateboarding and was really confused for the first ten minutes) on a team with his best friends, it is all good and wholesome. From the promotional photo on Disney+ I thought he was going to be the sullen, moody skater-type but NO Brink is honest-to-God chaotic good and it was very refreshing. Josh Bryant from Princess Diaries has truly nailed the ‘I’m not sure whats happening but I’m having a great time’ face in this film. That is until his Dad might not be able to get his job back after a serious injury and his family are facing some pretty bad money problems, so Brink joins his friend groups’ rivals, a sponsored skate team, which I learned are basically the skate-based instagram influencers of the 90’s, for $200 a week.

I wish I had watched this film when I was younger, because I would have for sure had a huge crush on Brink and been super invested in this film, instead I was basically the Dad who mainly went about going ‘MORE SKATING???’ until he gave a very impassioned Dad speech that had nothing to do with his son’s struggles but seemed to do the job. I know I’m old now, because my first thought watching all the terrifying stunts and tricks was ‘well at least they’re all wearing the proper protective equipment’. It was a much more solid, put-together film than You Lucky Dog, but strangely a lot less captivating. Probably because SO much of it was skating tricks and I am too anxious to watch these young people injure themselves like that!

One thing Brink! did have was a great villain in Val, the leader of the sponsored skate team, he was an utter and complete dickhead. A sensational dickhead. Like, I know he’s a teenager but I would still probably punch him in the face given the chance, and that is definitely a point in it’s favour.

Most importantly, I learned a valuable lesson: whatever happens, whatever financial situation your family is in, do not get paid $200 a week to skate for a sponsored team because skating should be about FUN. Selling-out is the worst possible thing you can do, lose your house, starve your family, but you better only be skating for fun!!

 

One thought on “Watching Every Disney Channel Original Movie: Brink! (1998)

  1. Great review again Claire – as with Lucky Dog not sure if this film will be for me but I have taken on board your comments and ripped up my pro skating contract and invested in more safety equipment

    Like

Leave a comment