Disney Channel Original Movies

Watching Every Disney Channel Original Movie: You Lucky Dog (1998)

So a while ago when Disney+ was announced I had the idea of watching every made for TV Disney film and writing about them. I thought it’d be a fun project and an excuse to watch some interesting films. Then the world set itself on fire and I lost all motivation for projects and stuff and things. BUT I am having a nice cosy day and I thought it was finally time to begin the incredible journey that will be making my way through these Disney channel originals.

Unfortunately, the first Official Disney Channel Original Movie Under Wraps (1997) is not available on Disney+ and I don’t have the will to try and find it somewhere online, so I’m technically starting with the second film. But who cares really? The world is in lockdown and this is how I’m spending my time, I’ll skip a film if I must.

You Lucky Dog is, truly, a riot. It is about a once dog psychic named Jack (played by Kirk Cameron) who has lost his powers until he meets Lucky, the dog of a multi-millionaire. When Lucky’s owner dies, the dog gets left with a $64 million fortune and it is up to Jack to ‘translate’ Lucky’s buying wishes. Unsurprisingly, the dead millionaire’s villainous niece and nephews aren’t happy with this situation and try their best to discredit Jack and get the money for themselves.

This was exactly the type of bullshit I signed up for when I thought of doing this and I am so here for it. It was completely ridiculous. Kirk Cameron says ‘bones’ a lot and eats mud when linked psychically to the dog. A court of law allows the lawyer/kind of love interest?? to prove that Jack has a psychic connection to a dog. There’s a gone-bad Home Alone-ish invasion of the huge mansion that the dog owns, there is a house-renovation scene that included a bone-shaped sofa and, of course, a secret murder plot. My whole thoughts can be summed up in a question mark to be honest. I was confused, but entertained, and I’ll take that for a Monday afternoon.

Is it actually worth a watch? I mean, the dog is great. I think that is one thing I can say with true certainty, the dog who played Lucky was exceptional. If that’s enough for you, go ahead, but I would personally avoid having to listen to Kirk Cameron barking relentlessly for an hour and 28 minutes.

2 thoughts on “Watching Every Disney Channel Original Movie: You Lucky Dog (1998)

  1. Great review Claire but on that basis I think I might give Lucky Dog especially as Lucky is a cats name….isn’t it?

    Like

  2. I’ll try again ….. another great review Claire but based on your comments I think I will give “You Lucky Dog” a miss (and anyway Lucky is a cats name …… isn’t it?)

    Like

Leave a comment