what i've been watching

What I’ve Been Watching: 6th January – 14th January

Remember when I used to review films and TV shows? Me either really. I used this blog briefly for reviewing what I was watching a few years ago, but then I started writing for TVandFilmReview, and then I started my masters, and I was writing enough about TV and film everywhere else in my life.

But since TVandFilmReview is no longer around (RIP), and my masters is long over, I thought I would start posting more about what I’m watching at the moment. Also, since I’m reading a lot less I can alternate weeks with these posts (as best I can).

Television

Zumbo’s Just Desserts season 2 (Netflix)zumbos just desserts.png
With The Great British Bake Off just Not Being The Same since its move to Channel 4, I’m always on the lookout for a show that can fill the Bake Off void for me, and Zumbo’s Just Desserts is exactly that. It also has the benefit of always being about dessert (I DON’T CARE ABOUT BREAD WEEK, there I said it). The Australian cooking show has the perfect balance of nail-biting moments and wholesome people (also incredibly annoying people that start crying when they bake brownies because their sons love brownies, like what child doesn’t love brownies? Or most desserts? Wouldn’t you just constantly be crying?) The highlight of Zumbo’s Just Desserts for me is the setting, it honestly looks like Willy Wonka’s Chocolate Factory, without the slaves. The bright colours constantly capture my attention, and the desserts Zumbo creates for the ‘Zumbo Test’ (the final dessert-off between the bottom two players who have to recreate a ridiculous dessert) are so impossible and impractical I get incredibly invested in how these normal people pull of these heroic feats of dessert making. If Bake Off isn’t cutting it for you anymore, or if you just want more dessert in your life, pop this on immediately.

Nathan For You (NowTV)Nathan_For_You_title
I am about a million years late to the Nathan For You hype, but I am just glad I arrived. This docu-reality comedy series follows Nathan Fielder, business degree in tow, giving businesses ideas to increase traffic and prestige. From poo flavoured frozen yoghurt to staging a fake dating show to help his nervousness around women, Nathan For You is a definite new favourite for me. Its one of those shows where me and James won’t let eachother watch it without the other, but as he is at work right now and I am at home alone and all I want to do is watch every single episode until the end of time. It is rare that I laugh out loud at shows, but I regularly pause and rewind because I’ve missed things from laughing so much. I know I’m probably the last person in the world to recommend this show, but if you’ve ignored everyone else, listen to me. Trust me. Its so good.

Films

Frozen 2 (In cinemas)frozen2
I liked Frozen a normal amount, I enjoyed it and had generally positive but neutral feelings towards it. Frozen 2 however, I have listened to the soundtrack multiple times, I’ve told everyone I know how great it is, and I’m working out when I can see it again. Frozen 2 follows Ana and Elsa on a whole new adventure, exploring their parents and their families past. I was genuinely shocked by how intense and emotional this was, I was sobbing on my own in the cinema as a fully grown adult, and I loved every second. Really important themes came up in Frozen 2, from colonialism to grief, there is actually a lot to unpack for a hyper-popular children’s film. I do feel like the soundtrack wasn’t as initially strong and catchy, but on further listens I think the songs are all technically a lot better and hard-hitting. Definitely a film that I will rewatch forever until the end of days.

Little Women (In cinemas)little women
Greta Gerwig’s phenomenal adaptation of the novel by Louisa May Alcott (that I definitely have not read but fully intend to now) has been talked about as much as Frozen 2, and I’m going to add to that hype. Saoirse Ronan, Florence Pugh and Laura Dern give standout performances (so yes, the main cast give standout performances, shocking). Even Timothée Chalamat, who I’m not a massive fan of (yeah yeah I know but Beautiful Boy was SO boring) really excelled as Laurie, literary history’s fuckboy. I personally didn’t find the time-jumps jarring, but I went in fully expecting to be confused by them and I think that mental preparation was all I needed. The absolute best part of Little Women is how it went from flowing beautifully, giving the audience time to fully engage with the emotional moments whilst also hitting really hard beats filled with comedy and perfect timing. Since Greta Gerwig did not get even an Oscar nomination for best director, she now has all of my awards because she deserves them. Bronze arts award for drama? Its yours Greta, take it from me. Cycling proficiency? Have it Greta, you earned it. I do not have many awards. The direction of this film was just *chefs kiss* perfection and I am obsessed.

I hope you enjoyed a bit of a break from book content, be sure to let me know what you’ve been watching recently and if you have any awards you’d also like to give to Greta Gerwig because she deserves it!

 

One thought on “What I’ve Been Watching: 6th January – 14th January

Leave a comment